Why I Write

I like to write. Writing is important to me as a coping tool. It’s a way to vent and get everything out. It gives me a voice that I may not otherwise have.

Writing is a way of expression so I can tell people things that I can not verbalise. I tell people things when I write this blog. I also write notes or letters to people when I need to tell them things that are difficult. Writing things gives me the chance to think about what I say before I say it so it doesn’t come out wrong and the message is lost.

A lot of what I write is shared with others but not everything. Sometimes I write things that are just for me, to help me order my thoughts and make sense of things. Whether I share it or not, writing things down is always helpful.

I also write to help others. To get my stories out there to support other people and also to receive support.

Sharing stories about mental illness starts conversations, conversations help break down barriers and remove stigma. By sharing stories we normalise our experiences and take the fear away so people don’t feel ashamed or worried about opening up about their struggles. By sharing stories we make it easier for people to say ‘me too’ and reach out for the help they deserve.

This is why I write.

Picture1.png

 

2 thoughts on “Why I Write

Leave a Reply

