Blogger Recognition Award

blogger recognition award.png

I would love to thank Jaynie Lea from Rock Your World for nominating me for this award. I can’t tell you how excited I am about this as it’s my first blogging award and my blog is only nine months old! *does happy dance*
.
There are a few very simple rules to follow when accepting this reward –
1.  I must thank the Blogger who nominated me and provide a link to their blog.
2. I must write a post to show the award.
3. I must write a brief story on how my blog started.
4. I must to give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
5. I must select 15 bloggers to pass this award on to.
6. I must comment on each of their blogs to let them know they have been nominated for this award and provide a link to this post.

How My Blog Started

My blog started when a friend of mine mentioned that they were starting a blog and I thought ‘well that’s a really good idea’ and within and hour, without thinking too much about it, I had set up my blog. It was a week before I set it to public because I wanted to have a few posts written up first so people had something to read when they clicked on it.

profile pic 2.png

I chose to write about mental health because it is a subject that is important to me as I have been dealing with mental illness for over half my life. I use the phrase “breaking down the stigma of mental illness one story at a time” to describe my blog because that’s exactly what I’m trying to do. By sharing my stories and the stories of others, I’m hoping that mental illness will become less taboo and people will start to feel more comfortable talking about their struggles and asking for help when they need it.

Advice for New Bloggers

Just do it – Play around with your blog, have fun, try new things. By experimenting you learn what works and what doesn’t. Check out other blogs to see how they do things. Each blog is so unique. Find a writing style that you like and that flows.
Reach out to other bloggers – read their posts, interact – like and comment. By doing this you get to know other bloggers and they get to know you. It gets you’re name out there so people become interested in your blog and pop over to have a look. And you might just make a new friend along the way.

My 15 Nominees Are…  *drum roll*

I have selected 15 other excellent mental health blogs by 15 beautiful people who are all brave enough to tell their amazing stories. Some of these blogs I’ve been following for a while now and some I’ve just discovered. All these people tell their own story in their own unique way, showing that even though we may have the same diagnosis, we all experience it differently. I love reading all their stories and I hope you do as well.
  1. Hello Sarah Lou 
  2. The Art of Broken 
  3. Betty’s Battleground 
  4. Slay Girl Society 
  5. Mom of 3 is Nuts 
  6. Diva With Depression 
  7. August Was Here
  8. Essentially Broken 
  9. Inside My Head 
  10. Be Kind to Your Mind 
  11. The Sadness Monster 
  12. Milly’s Guide 
  13. Braver Than Before 
  14. Two Angels and a Black Dog 
  15. The Meltdown Guide 
11 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

    • You just write a post similar to mine following the instructions and nominate 15 other bloggers who you think deserve the award. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Alison, thank you so much for nominating me. I’m sorry I didn’t get to post this-things have been a little crazy over here (5 daughters lol) Anyway, I sincerely appreciate you nominating me and liking my blog. I’m going to write my post today. Thanks again

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

